Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Treating Myself

on April 5, 2012

Seeing as how it is spring break, and almost Easter, I decided to treat myself a little.  To do this in a way that doesn’t give me a great deal of guilt, I went to a discount store.  I actually found some great stuff that I really needed, at prices that don’t give me buyer’s remorse!

Socks are really hard for me to keep around for too long.  Since I do coach gymnastics (and I have a germ phobia), I always have socks on.  For those of you who have not experienced this, let me tell you…Gymnastics is hard on your socks.

(source)

See those foam pieces?  Well those beautiful blocks of fun will break off into tiny pieces that I like to refer to as “pit boogers”.  They stick to EVERYTHING.  Your leos, your hair, your eyeballs, but especially your socks.  They are nearly impossible to remove, and after a good while, the socks just have to be tossed.

They’re made of bamboo!  Even though I try to only wear “older” socks to the gym, I like that these are a little more eco- and wallet-friendly than the average pair of athletic socks.  (I got a package of 4 sets for $5.99)

Since we know from previous shopping trips that I tend to shop with a theme, it only makes sense that I not only bought bamboo socks, but also these great workout tanks that are bamboo-based.

They’re also pink and blue, just like the socks.  🙂 I loved these super-affordable tanks as soon as I saw them.  They’re flowy at the bottom, but fitted at the top.  The straps are wide enough to hide a sports bra, but the built-in support is good enough to wear alone if I’m just hanging out.  They’re long and sweat-wicking.  I’m pretty sure if they had another color I’d go back to purchase that one also.  I think I’ll be living in these this summer.

I also got 2 undies from Victoria’s Secret (thank you free coupons), and I happened to choose pink and blue in those, but I didn’t think it would be appropriate to post a picture.  Even though they’re pretty.

My last purchase is not wearable, but even better.  Edible.

These things are DELICIOUS.  They’re organic, vegan, gluten free, and kosher.  Not only that, but it’s made of only 2 ingredients – coconut and rice syrup.  After eating my first bite, I knew I had to go back and buy all of the boxes that they had available.  There were other flavors also, but I decided to check out the website before I made any rash decisions in my coconut-drunk state.  I didn’t get a chance to check out the website for goodies other than coconut varieties, but I’m sold.  These particular bars seem to be snacks that could be reproduced pretty easily, but the convenience and the price point that I got them at (5 – 1.9 oz bars for $3.00) makes me think that the ingredients/time involved might not be worth it?   What do you think?

Since I missed WIAW, I’ll end with Wednesday’s dinner anyway.

Hands down my new favorite salmon recipe, some kale chips, and wild rice with food processed kale/spinach added in.

Grilled Salmon

I used this recipe, but made a few small changes to make it gluten-free.  I highlighted the ingredient changes in pink (to go with my blue background haha).  Other than these few things, I followed the recipe exactly as listed.  I added the crushed red peppers directly to the salmon along with the garlic salt and lemon pepper.

  • 1.5 lbs. salmon
  • lemon pepper
  • garlic salt
  • 1/3 cup Bragg’s liquid aminos
  • 1/3 cup Splenda brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. crushed red pepper
Enjoy!

Leave a comment