Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Feeling better takes time…

on February 20, 2012

Feeling better takes time.  Not only do I mean this in the truest sense of the statement, that it took weeks for my body to adjust to my new GF way of life, but also in the fact that GF takes a lot of time out of my day.  In fact, my only complaint with my new diet these days is the free time that I no longer have.  Gone are the days of a quick trip past Panera for some soup, salad, and bread.  Onto complex meals that involve plenty of ingredients and sometimes hours of prep time.  Don’t get me wrong, I’ll take the lost time over stomach pains any day, but if you’re planning on transitioning to a gluten-free lifestyle, it is important to get a few GF staple meals that you can whip up in less than 20 minutes for nights that time gets away from you.

One of my newfound fast & favorite meals:

Gluten-Free Pasta (I’ve heard there are many good brands out there, but my favorite so far is Tinkyada) and a quick and easy meat sauce.

Fifteen-Minute Meat Sauce Recipe

2 tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 large onion
½ tsp. garlic salt
¼ tsp. sea salt
½ tsp. black pepper
1 lb. ground beef or GF sausage
28 oz. can crushed tomatoes
¼ cup parmesan cheese

  1. Boil the pasta.
  2. Meanwhile, brown the meat with sea salt and black pepper then set aside.
  3. Add EVOO to pan with chopped onion and garlic salt.  Cook until onions are soft and transparent.
  4. Add the meat to the pan with the onion, and place the can of tomatoes in as well.  Put on medium-high heat and allow the tomatoes to reduce (this should take around 5-6 minutes).
  5. Drain pasta and top with sauce.  Garnish with some parmesan cheese.

I like to use the tomatoes which already have some seasoning in them, for example many brands of tomatoes can be found diced or crushed with Italian seasoning or with jalapenos, etc.  If you prefer not to get these tomatoes (since they are generally canned and there is so much debate about how healthy canned tomatoes are), add Italian seasoning to your preference.  I would go with about ¼ tsp each of basil and oregano as well as ¼ to ½ tsp of crushed red pepper flakes.

I know spaghetti is spaghetti, but it is always safer to know exactly how the sauce is prepared.  It doesn’t hurt that even though it is quick and easy, it seems special when made from scratch.

I leave you with a picture of my pre-bedtime snack, aka “Best Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever”.  You know a cookie is good when a gluten-eater can’t tell it’s G-free.

(Excuse the photography – I’m still working on that…)

Leave a Reply

