Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Getting “Glutened”

on March 5, 2012

If it isn’t one thing, then it’s always another.  Though I was finally up to my normal shenanigans after recovering from a cold, last week was definitely not a “feel good” week.  This leaves me with a question.  To all you g-free-ers out there:  When do you trust the “gluten-free” label and when do you mentally file the item as suspect?

I have become an almost daily customer to a favorite health food store thanks to a delightfully delicious gf chocolate cake and grilled cheese with veggie sandwich.  They offer tons of other great gf items as well, though none as tempting to me as an overload of cheese or dark chocolate frosting.  I have never had a single problem with anything they offer, and in fact, devour all of the goodies regularly. 

However, upon my most recent visit, I saw an “Everything Free” chocolate muffin that I knew I needed to try.  It was supposedly gluten free, egg free, casein free, and peanut/tree nut free.  My heart screamed “yes!!!! I LOOOOVE you, muffin.” 

My stomach whole-heartedly disagreed

Illness ensued.  My typical symptoms of stomach cramps, digestive problems, headache for days… 

2 things I know for sure:  I know it was that muffin, and I know it wasn’t the stomach flu.  

So again the question:  What should I trust?  Do I still trust that particular store?  Should I tell the store that they are potentially poisoning people with their edibles?  What recommendations do you have?

2 responses to “Getting “Glutened”

  1. So sorry the muffin got you! If you’ve eaten at the same place before with no problems, sounds like it might be a cross contamination issue. You could ask them what they do to keep gluten separate from gluten-free, maybe it’s as easy as they need to use separate serving utensils. Hope you’re feeling better!

    • Aimee says:

      Thanks for the “get better” wishes. I’m definitely feeling better, just aggravated now 🙂 I took your advice, and just heard that they get the muffins from an “independent” dealer and have no control over how they are processed. I just don’t think they should be selling them as gf if they’re going to have contact with gluten!

      Then again what do I know?

Leave a Reply

