Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

I like it when things match

on March 7, 2012

It really doesn’t take much to excite me…However, this time I feel like it’s a big excitement!  It is WEDNESDAY, which means I get to participate in my first What I Ate Wednesday!

Not only that, but it’s theme is green this month 🙂  Green is probably my favorite color, and to prove it I will show off more than just my green food today.  It’s also helpful that I own a lot of green items, because quite frankly since I got glutened my appetite has been pissed off and gone lower than normal.  All I really feel safe to eat is ice cream.  Is this breakfast the kind of green you mean?

Yes.  That was really my breakfast.  Lime sherbet with self-frozen organic raspberries from the time Sam’s club had them on sale and I bought 5 lbs of them.  They’re still delectable and well-shaped after the freezing.  I took my mother’s advice and froze them flat on a cookie sheet before I stuck them into containers.  Yum.

I didn’t photograph lunch, but it was boring and I mainly ate it in bites throughout the day.  It included a larabar, some cut up veggies (nothing green! just radishes, carrots, and red pepper), and a pb & j on Udi’s bread.

When I got home I had a quick “after school” snack that consisted of a “Not-So-Green” Green Smoothie.

  • 1 cup of ice
  • 1 cup of unsweetened coconut milk
  • 1 oz. frozen spinach
  • 3 oz. frozen raspberries (more from the freezing method mentioned earlier)
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/4 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp. cocoa powder
  • stevia (if you like your smoothie a little sweeter)
Dump it all in a blender and blend 🙂
I used my cool green ice cube tray ice.
Since I shared my smoothie, I had to make it “less” green to suit other eyeballs palates.  Frozen spinach (and a small amount of it) does the trick.  You can barely tell its in there.  I also hide the flavor with a smoothie a little sweeter than I’d normally make.  My special stevia kicks the chocolate flavor up a notch, too.
Dinner included a boring side salad, but was mostly a few small yellow potatoes that I baked and added some sour cream to.  I intended to put these refried black beans with Cholula and cheese on top, but the heating process changed my plans.

To top off my green filled WIAW I had some green tea.

I leave you with these other green items from my adventures today:

My green backpack filled with running gear.  (I didn’t actually run today…I’m lazy remember?…I just coach track)

Some of the green goodies inside.  Eos lip balm, Eos hand lotion, Origins face lotion, Secret natural minerals deodorant, a green hairtie, and more green lip balm.  I’m not obsessed, I just like it when things match.

2 responses to “I like it when things match

  1. Heehee, I love your breakfast! I’ve been known to dip into the ice cream container first thing in the morning 🙂
    Looks like a yummy day, and great first WIAW!

  2. Aimee says:

    It was a delicious day! Sometimes I just feel better starting off the morning with some ice cream…I usually eat healthier the rest of the day, too. Maybe I’m subconsciously making up for it.

    I guess ice cream for breakfast is better than no breakfast at all!

Leave a Reply

