Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Happy Birthday, Mom!

on March 9, 2012

It’s my mother’s birthday, and as I so sweetly reminded her this morning…I’m more excited than she is.  I love other people’s birthdays.  They’re a great reason to celebrate.

For me that meant taking a day off work and buying myself something.  My mother and I are going to celebrate her birthday at a later weekend in March since we don’t live too close.

I started the morning off at a late (for me) 7 am.  I had breakfast, watched some TV, and walked the puppy since it was so nice out.  Turns out it looked nicer than it actually was and we only roamed around for about 15 minutes.

I had plans to meet a friend at the mall around 11.  It was a glorious mall day, with nearly empty stores.  Good for shopping, bad for my bank statement.  I hadn’t been shopping in a really long time, but I kept it in check.  I only bought a pair of jeans, a shirt, and a pair of shoes.  The shoes being my favorite of the 3 items:

Image

Image

Glittery Tom’s!  How cute!!  Looking good and doing good since they give shoes to a child in need for every pair purchased.  My friend actually bought the same pair. 🙂  I love how comfy they are, and I love that they actually make my small feet (youth 4/adult 6) look somewhat normal-sized.  I’ve been eyeing the glitters for a while (I’m kind of like a raccoon in that regard, shiny things distract me), and I’m glad I finally sprung for them at a time I could convince someone else to make the purchase also. I can’t have too much buyer’s remorse.

After the mall, I stopped by the salad bar at the grocery store.  The time made for a pretty pathetic amount of veggies left, but I made do with some spinach, romaine, cuc, zuc, peas, cottage cheese, and cheddar slices.  I topped it when I got home with some home made sundried tomato dressing.  Not terrible for $2.  Here it is with my giant jar of water on the side, ignore the ugliness.  I dropped it on the way in.

Image

I had a nice surprise awaiting me as I came in the door also, my fave magazine, Whole Living.  Yay!

I just finished a little snack of the new flavor Larabar, Chocolate Chip Cherry Torte.  I wasn’t sure if it would meet my chocolate needs, so I had a few chocolate chips along side.  I definitely liked this flavor a lot, and will have to purchase more when I go back to the store.

Image

I’m going out tonight for dinner with some friends, but I’ve called ahead to ensure no more “glutening” problems.  I’m still a little nervous about it though, because the restaurant doesn’t have a dedicated gf menu.  Wish me luck!

2 responses to “Happy Birthday, Mom!

  1. Luck! 😉 and happy bday to your mom!
    I’m so particular about larabars – there are a few flavors I like, and I never try new ones. Kind of lame, but I know what I like.

  2. Aimee says:

    Thanks! I am always trying new ones, but this is the first I’ve ever really liked. I’m not sure if I liked it, or just the extra chocolate I added. What are your favorites?

Leave a Reply

