Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Is it an alpaca or a llama?

on March 12, 2012

Image

Lola has no idea what she’s in for…

Yoo-hoo Lolie, time to go for a walk.  Like any lady (or at least like her mom), she is not cute when she’s waking up.Image

The Sunday brought beautiful weather, and with it a little froyo for me and Lola.  We Lola I scarfed it before I snapped a pic, but it got both of us energized for a good trip.  It was so delicious we also forgot to share with Drew.  Oops! 😉  The hike was about 4 miles, and a good way to ease back into working out.  The lazy puppy finally got herself woken up when we hit the trails and a great time was had by all.

Headless Drew (I need to work on that) even let the non-swimming bulldog mix attempt to swim a bit!

Image

As we walked a bit further, there is a place where the hiking trail can overlook a farm.  What is it that saw us? An alpaca or a llama?  Lola was very curious, but not as curious as these little fellows were about us.

Image

The hike ended up with an even more tired puppy than before we went:

Image

Drew and I were pretty tired too.  I was also in need of some fuel, and when the weather gets nice I always want salads and fruit.  I made Drew swing by the grocery store for some salad bar salad.  Again, not the greatest selection, but it’s so inexpensive and a little fun.  Romaine, spinach, cuc, zuc, broccoli, tomato, peas, cottage cheese, and I used my own sundried tomato dressing again.  Drew liked the wings they had to offer as well.  They looked great, though they were breaded so I couldn’t partake.

Image

This left me fueled for the evening, and in anticipation of a big morning to come.  I leave you with my sun-dried tomato dressing recipe.  Check back in to see what Monday has in store.

Sun-Dried Tomato Dressing

  • 1/2 cup roasted red peppers
  • 1 tomato
  • 1 small onion
  • 2 tbsp. chopped basil
  • 1 tbsp. garlic (can of course use fresh ~ 1 clove)
  • 1 jar chopped sun-dried tomatoes in oil
  • 1/3 cup gluten-free vinegar
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
1.  Put all except 1/2 of the jar of sun-dried tomatoes into food processor and blend until desired texture.
2.  Gently fold the rest of the sun-dried tomatoes into dressing by hand.
3.  Use as dressing (or as chicken marinade and topping!)


2 responses to “Is it an alpaca or a llama?

  1. Maureen says:

    Oh, I HAVE to try this dressing!! Love your Lola!

    • Aimee says:

      Oh I love it! I’m not sure though, I’m torn because I’m pretty sure it’s now second to your avocado dressing. That stuff is DANGEROUS though.

Leave a Reply

