Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Tastes Like Nature

on March 20, 2012

In an attempt to make my gf-life easier, I am trying to keep a lot of snacks around school in case I’m in need of a quick snack, or (more likely) that I am too lazy busy to pack an appropriate lunch.  Not only will this keep my lunch tab at the only two places in town to pick up a non-glutenated salad, it will also *hopefully* keep me from unknowingly cross-contaminating myself.

One of the snacks I tried for the first time today was this box of lentil crackers:

Now, I must warn you that my expectations were low.  Not only did I hear “lentil” and “cracker” together and assume that I was going to gag at my own lunch, but I also got this box for $1.00 at a discount store. I was hoping that I could at least hide the taste/texture with some nut butter, cheese, or hummus.  Well, I was delightfully surprised that there was no need.  The crackers alone have a good taste and texture, and the nut butter was just a nice addition.  Score one for not hating my blusey-Tuesday.

I was super craving some fruit when I got out of track practice, but since I still had a few hours of gymnastics practice.  How badly did I want some fruit salad?  Bad enough to send the hubby to the grocery store without a list or pictures of my desired items.  Luckily, (for both of us :)) he did a good job and I got to enjoy a lovely fruit salad after practice(s).  Score two.

Blueberries, bananas, raspberries, kiwi, pineapple, and green grapes.  It was delicious.  Even if it did have blueberries in it…They’re probably my least favorite fruit.  Besides papaya.  It smells kind of like feet to me.  If you can’t tell from the messy-ish bowl in the photo, this was my 3rd bowl.  I also had some cottage cheese on the side.

My palate has been a little goofy since I was last glutened, and I couldn’t stand the thought of downing some of my typical dinner foods (meat, eggs, veggies all sound pretty unappetizing).  To make up for the lack of variety in my day, I went with a shake of my new Vega powder.  Lots of vitamins and minerals that I’m otherwise missing.  I’d tried this brand before and liked it a lot, but it was not the health optimizer.  I was lucky enough to score this tub of it on sale for $30.  (If you look for it online it is MUCH more expensive than that).  I’m very thankful I did get it for so cheap.

Chocolate is usually the go-to in flavored edibles for me.  Chocolate seems safe, and in my opinion, makes everything taste better.  I’d eat it on cheese.  I have eaten it on crickets.  However, for this powder, chocolate is not my favorite.

I mixed half a serving (1 scoop) with 1/2 cup whole milk and 1 cup coconut milk in my favorite purple shaker cup.
Shake Shake Shake.
I excitedly took a swig.
It tastes like I licked nature.
I fervently dropped 15 drops of chocolate stevia into the cup.
Shake Shake Shake.
I tentatively take another mini-sip.
It tastes like I licked nature’s ass.

It has a good texture, and its worth its weight in gold if you need vitamins (half your daily value), protein (26 g), or fiber (23 g).  But still…it’s not a flavor I’m sure I can get used to.

Strike 1, 2, and 3.  Tuesday-bluesday wins again.

Oh Tuesday.  I should’ve known better than to try a new food on a Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

