Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Like I dug it up

on March 21, 2012

Though it’s not a TRUE What I Ate Wednesday because I am only blogging dinner (earlier foods were boring and not photographed)…I figure since it’s still part of what I ate and today is Wednesday I can get away with this:

Image

Since all I’ve eaten all day is a gallon of fruit salad and a coconut cream pie Larabar, I tried REALLLLY hard to convince my tastebuds that I wanted some veggies.  My favorite food group and I are still estranged after my last gluten-poisoning.  After a HOT track practice for March (87 degrees?!?), I broke out the coupon for a $2.00 Berry and Pecan Spring Mix salad.

Image

Even the fruit on top of this salad and the cranberry balsalmic I topped it with couldn’t make those greens appetizing to me.  I choked down what I could, and that wasn’t much.  I added some of my free cheese onto the tail end of this salad once I realized I wasn’t hitting the nutritious mark with my intake, and cheese seemed like something my stomach wouldn’t hate.  Plus, cheese has a certain “plugging” factor if you know what I mean?

Image

Since I picked up some chocolate froyo from the grocery while I was there purchasing the salad, I thought I’d give that chocolate Vega another go with a little boost of yum.

Image

Around 3/4 of a cup of froyo into the blender.  It starts out exciting.

Image

A little dropper full of chocolate stevia.  No, there isn’t such a thing as too much chocolate.

Image

1 scoop of the Vega, along with 1 cup of coconut milk and 1/2 cup of whole milk.  It already looks gross.  It’s okay.  Just admit it.

Image

A drinking jar full of some froyo-ed Vega powder.  Don’t worry – The froyo did nothing to enhance the flavor.  It still tastes like I dug it up.  I merely wasted nearly a cup of frozen delight.  Bad decisions.

Anyone have any ideas on how to kill the taste of dried moss in my frozen beverage?  Hope your WIAW brought you better luck!

2 responses to “Like I dug it up

  1. I have the same issue after gluten — everything tastes a little metallic! The last time it happened, I think all I ate was plain squash and chicken for two days 😦 Hope you’re feeling better!

    • Aimee says:

      I’m glad it happens to you, too. Not glad in the sense that I’m GLAD your food tastes like crap, just glad that I’m not alone. My husband keeps asking me if I’m SURE it tastes bad or if I just THINK it tastes bad. Yeah, not sure what the difference is there myself, but I’m SURE that I THINK it tastes bad. Dang gluten.

Leave a Reply

