Glutton for Gluten-Free

Good Food, Gluten Free

Anti-Obsessed

on April 2, 2012

One thing that I love about my blog is that, even though I have been known to be obsessive and/or overly Type-A about everything in life, the blog is the one area that I haven’t seemed to taint with the “quota” that I give the rest of my life.  In some ways, I think that my organization is both helpful and essential since it makes my day-to-day life fall into an easy routine.  I’m rarely running late, the house has healthy foods to eat even when in a pinch, I am responsible with money, and I know what is expected of me at work and how to best accomplish tasks.  However, as my gluten-freedom has become necessity, I’ve noticed that I’ve let that control bleed into the rest of my life a little more than I’d like to admit.

Two of my less-creepy lists/calendars.

An abundance of to-dos and calendars, followed by perfunctory lists before finalized lists, and time denotations have often-times taken over my life.  Needless to say, listing is very time consuming.  Sometimes it’s a toss up whether it saves more time than I spend planning.  It’s something I’ve struggled with before; the need to stay organized vs. obsessive control of my day.  Though I’m still attempting to re-evaluate what is truly helpful and what is more stress-inducing than stress-relieving, the blog has been one area that I feel I never need to set a goal for.  Because of this battle, I can’t promise (at this time) how regularly I’ll be posting.  I will say that when things are good, I’m more likely to post.  When things are stressful, I’ll be less likely to post.

Since I am currently list/calendar obsessed, I’ll say that I made a pan of this kick-butt coffee cake to cut up and wrap individually for breakfast this week.  I also almost had a conniption when Drew wanted to take 2 pieces for breakfast instead of one of these and a piece of breakfast casserole.  *Sorry Drew*

Coffee Cake

  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup potato flour
  • 2 tbsp + 1 tsp tapioca flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1.5 tsp. xanthan gum
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup refined sugar (or sugar substitute – I actually used stevia)
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used Splenda brown sugar b/c it was all I had)
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp butter – melted

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Mix the oil, eggs, and milk.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix all 3 flours together.
  4. Set aside 2 tbsp. of flour mixture.
  5. To the flour mix, add baking powder, sugar, and xanthan gum.
  6. Add the dry ingredients to the liquids and mix well.
  7. Pour the batter into a greased (or nonstick sprayed) 9 x 9″ pan.
  8. Create the cinnamon-y topping in the dry ingredient bowl.  Use the 2 tbsp. flour mixture and add to it the cinnamon and melted butter.  Pour this mix over the cake batter.
  9. Bake the cake, uncovered, for 25 minutes.

This is basically a generic coffee cake mixture recipe that I’ve had for years that I made gluten free with the flour mixtures.  I tried bean flours before, but the cake wasn’t as fluffy as it is here.  I’ve also tried all sugar substitute, and the cake was again, not as fluffy.  I really like light coffee cake rather than dense.  If you prefer something more dense you may want to try coconut and garbanzo bean flours rather than the brown rice and potato flours.

Yum.  Indulgent breakfast for the week.  Since it is spring break, I think I deserve it. 🙂

4 responses to “Anti-Obsessed

  1. thegfgf2 says:

    Sounds yummy 🙂 I’ve been known to freak out when I planned a meal around leftovers it they somehow mysteriously disappeared from existence … oh, well, it means that I’m also getting good at improvising!

    • Aimee says:

      I can never plan meals around leftovers here because they ALWAYS disappear. I do, however, need to be a little more go with the flow like you. If I did need those leftovers for a meal I’d be more likely to have a nervous breakdown than improvise! I’m jealous of your flexibility!

  2. organicallymo says:

    I am such a list-maker!! It can be pretty sad though. For example, I just made a calendar of everything I need to do each day of Spring Break….like a DETAILED, DAY-BY-DAY, almost to the hour calendar. I need mental help {and a margarita}!

    • Aimee says:

      I do the same thing!! I love my lists, but it’s kind of a pain. If something ever gets a little off schedule, you know I’m redoing my entire plan. Apparently we both need help and/or margaritas!

Leave a Reply

